Help me complete this story. Open for 24 hours

Hello everybody!

This week for the writing challenge, I have to get feedback from readers to complete one of my short stories. This is part of my main character’s childhood: period that shape their character. It’s your turn to help me write their story! Submit ideas below. Nothing public so you can’t see how it unfolds.

Setting: Late 1968. Biloxi, Mississippi.

Main characters of the scene:

Russ, 18 year old Caucasian male. Captain of the basketball team. Heading to Columbia University. Political Science.

Fred, 18 year old. African American. Captain of football team. Heading to Notre-Dame. Business Management.

Cecile, 18 year old. African American. Fred’s twin sister. Dating Harold, another football player. Fred’s friend. Heading to Spelman. Nursing.

Russ and Fred used to be friends. Separated by life, different sport, different friends, etc. Fought when Russ was too close to his sister Cecile last year.

Prompt: First integrated prom. Ready, Set, Go!

Submssions: Closed at 5pm EST Tues 5/14

Thank you! I will post this when I finish it. I will combine as many submissions as I can to write it. You will see the final version in the novel… After you submit, you can check the first short story I shared; it was in 1978 (a modified version is in the novel).

UPDATE:  Submissions officially closed. I am working on three short stories that I should post this weekend. The Weekly series resumes on Sunday.

To get the latest posts: follow my blog, follow me on Twitter account, like my page on Facebook, sign up via emails, delivered directly to your box. See my About Me for blog updates. Feel free to share this post.

About Nadeen Chrystal Davis

I am Nadeen Chrystal Davis, an aspiring fiction author. I am in the process of writing of novel that I hope to publish by next summer. In the meantime, I will be sharing some short stories. In this blog, I will talk about the writing process, about the ups and downs, about anything that catches my attention throughout my day. Feel free to comment: I want to hear from you. Read more about me on my blog: nadeendavisblog.wordpress.com... Hello and welcome!
This entry was posted in Prompts, Weekly Writing Chanllenges, Writing & Publishing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Help me complete this story. Open for 24 hours

  1. Tatsat says:

    I wish I could come up with something worthwhile, but I have limitations 😦 Difficult to envision a lot of things. But I am quite looking forward to the novel… All the very best Nadeen 🙂

    • Aww thank you. It’s okay… I’ll post the story once I receive everyone’s submission and then I’ll post the part that might end up in the book as a modified version… I have major limitations: comedy, sci-fi like different universe type. lol…

      • Tatsat says:

        My limitations are majorly cultural, which I plan to overcome in times to come. Like we do not have proms around here, nor are the social scenarios similar. On the top of it all, my power to imagine things is really bad 😦

        Looks like a wonderful project. Will have a lesson or two for those like me 🙂

        • Oh I see… Think of prom as a big party, with boys and girls. Guys w/ matching suits to girls’ pretty dresses. With a theme. Some kids get together and get a limo… Well back in 1968, it was probably simpler. So scratch the last part

          • Tatsat says:

            Ahhha… I have seen fair bit of Hollywood, but one does not know how much of that translates into real life. So, I am not that sure you know…

            You might be amazed to know that the first girl I talked to outside family, was in 12th grade. And, I consider myself lucky as far as that is concerned 😉 Life is really different around here my friend… Sounds like a place to explore for your literary projects ? 😉

          • Some of it is true, most of it exaggerated… yes, definitely a place to explore. I’ve heard a lot but I would to see for myself one day

  2. joseasanoj says:

    Good Post..
    Sanoj Jose (Author, My Day Out With An Angel)

  3. cookie5683 says:

    I am waiting impatiently hehehe

Comments, opinions, ideas? Give it to me! Please, feel free to share.

