May 12 Daily Prompt: Hi, Mom!

Today is Mother’s Day in the United States. Wherever in the world you are, write your mother a letter.

Photographers, share a photo that says mothering.

Hello Mom!

I want to say thank you for everything you’ve done for me, from the little things to all the major sacrifices. I would not be where I am today without you.

Thank you for all the values you’ve ingrained in me: moral character and work ethic, love for education, respect for others, personal drive for success, tolerance for differences, optimism for better days, fear of God. Patience, appreciation, accountability, honesty, kindness, love, friendship, acceptance, etiquette.

Thank you for supporting all my ideas and curiosities as a child. I remember events from the age of 4: you teaching me how to sew like you do because I was going to your box behind your back, teaching me about manners at our tea party with your set that was in the glass on the wall, teaching me how to read as you studied for nursing school, teaching me about previewing school work and redoing them with me as I cried for messing up on my circles in pre-K. Yes, I still remember all of that.

Instead of punishing me, you supported me and made sure I did the right things. I can see how those little changes made my shaped my little self into the present me. As I get older, I understand more and more how hard it is to raise a child, about all the sacrifices you’ve made for us, about how many adjustments you’ve made to accommodate us.

You may not always agree with what I do but you are always there for me. You’ve allowed me to grow and flourish, moving to the beat of my own drums. It’s a great feeling to turn back as I walk the road of life and see you in the bleachers, as one of my biggest cheerleader and fan. 

For all of that, I want thank you. I am proud of who I am today.

Sincerely, your dear daughter

Happy Mother’s Day to All Mothers, including the WordPress family!!!

To get the latest posts: follow my blog, follow me on Twitter account, like my page on Facebook, sign up via emails, delivered directly to your box. See my About Me for blog updates. Feel free to share this post.

About Nadeen Chrystal Davis

I am Nadeen Chrystal Davis, an aspiring fiction author. I am in the process of writing of novel that I hope to publish by next summer. In the meantime, I will be sharing some short stories. In this blog, I will talk about the writing process, about the ups and downs, about anything that catches my attention throughout my day. Feel free to comment: I want to hear from you. Read more about me on my blog: nadeendavisblog.wordpress.com... Hello and welcome!
This entry was posted in Culture, Daily posts, Prompts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to May 12 Daily Prompt: Hi, Mom!

  1. Pingback: My Mum (WordPress Daily Prompt) | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis and Me

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Hi, Mom! | On My Front Porch

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Happy Mother’s Day | My Daily Prompt Blog

  4. Pingback: Mom’s Day! | Kaleidoscopic World in Words

  5. Pingback: My Mom Is 99; Top That! | The Jittery Goat

  6. Pingback: Dear Mom, | mycookinglifebypatty

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Hi, Mom! | writinglikeastoner

Comments, opinions, ideas? Give it to me! Please, feel free to share.

