May 4 Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World

How do you communicate differently online than in person, if at all? How do you communicate emotion and intent in a purely written medium?

Communication is different online versus in person. In a face-to-face conversation, the person can see your facial expressions, hand gestures and body motions. You can also change the tone of your voice to convey different messages.

With online communications, these things are not possible so I get creative. I add tone instant message lingo such as “lol” when I meant to be funny or I capitalize for extreme reactions like OMG. I use parentheses like (barf) or (sarcasm). I also use the Twitter hashtage like #KillMeNow. I use dot, dot, dot to show transition in thoughts like… see if you can pick up my tone in my About me. What impression do I give about myself?

For the most part, I am able to convey what I mean and what I intend to say with these adjustments. Are you able to communicate emotion and intent across cyber world? Do you think anything differently from me?

To get the latest posts: follow my blog, follow me on Twitter account, like my page on Facebook, sign up via emails, delivered directly to your box. See my About Me for blog updates. Feel free to share.

About Nadeen Chrystal Davis

I am Nadeen Chrystal Davis, an aspiring fiction author. I am in the process of writing of novel that I hope to publish by next summer. In the meantime, I will be sharing some short stories. In this blog, I will talk about the writing process, about the ups and downs, about anything that catches my attention throughout my day. Feel free to comment: I want to hear from you. Read more about me on my blog: nadeendavisblog.wordpress.com... Hello and welcome!
This entry was posted in Daily posts, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to May 4 Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text, World « Mama Bear Musings

  2. Sabah Ahmed says:

    I have worked alone and in team and I enjoy both challenges.

  3. Marie says:

    I love the killmenow hashtag! How is it that I never thought of using it? *scratches head*

    p.s. see that? see what I did? I pulled a you in that comment! ha! because i’m crazee like that!

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Communicating in Cyber World | My Daily Prompt Blog

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | On My Front Porch

  6. Pingback: Teenage Techie | Travellin' Thru Rambles

  7. Pingback: I Don’t Want To Be Politically Correct I Just Want To Be Left Alone | The Jittery Goat

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World | just happy thoughts | Kaleidoscopic World in Words

  9. Pingback: It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World! | 3rdculturechildren

  10. Pingback: Best Blogging Advice Money Can’t Buy | The Jittery Goat

  11. Pingback: Patience and persistance | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Comments, opinions, ideas? Give it to me! Please, feel free to share.

