May 2 Daily Prompt: Mad Libs (Poem: The Other Woman)

Turn to your co-workers, kids, Facebook friends, family — anyone who’s accessible — and ask them to suggest an article, an adjective, and a noun. There’s your post title! Now write

The Other Woman

It is midnight and you’re here all alone.

He did manage to call when he found some time alone.

He always has to find a way to squeeze you in.

This is what happens when you’re the other woman.

Birthdays, holidays and vacations are all spent with her.

At times you wonder what does he say to her?

After a couple hours of hours, he would say Baby, I have to go to back to her.

What can you say: you are the other woman.

Why buy the cow when you get the milk for free?

Why make someone a priority if they make you only an option?

You know you heard it all: a man borrowed is never your own.

Let him go. Really. Who needs those fleas?

Baby girl, it is a waste of your time to be the other woman.

Written by Nadeen Chrystal Davis

NOTE– I wrote this in 30 minutes. There should be a break after every 4th line but I can’t seem to make the format stick here. I will try writing in Word and copying here.

Let me know what you think. I’m looking for criticism on the style, the flow, the words. Poetry is definitely my weak point. As a writer, I am used to being able to express myself in elaborate sentences. I am working on the poetry part. I have ideas, I know what I want to say but I am struggling on the form. You can always check my poetry page for new version after editing. I will add a short story about a female who is the other woman and you will see the difference and judge for yourself.

To get the latest posts: follow my blog, follow me on Twitter account, like my page on Facebook, sign up via emails, delivered directly to your box. See my About Me for blog updates. Feel free to share.

About Nadeen Chrystal Davis

I am Nadeen Chrystal Davis, an aspiring fiction author. I am in the process of writing of novel that I hope to publish by next summer. In the meantime, I will be sharing some short stories. In this blog, I will talk about the writing process, about the ups and downs, about anything that catches my attention throughout my day. Feel free to comment: I want to hear from you. Read more about me on my blog: nadeendavisblog.wordpress.com... Hello and welcome!
This entry was posted in Daily posts, Entertainment, Poetry, Prompts, Writing & Publishing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to May 2 Daily Prompt: Mad Libs (Poem: The Other Woman)

  1. Linda says:

    I’m impressed! In just 30 minutes, you’ve compiled a very intricate prose that flows so well. It takes me hours sometimes, just to write a few short paragraphs. I’m more own worst critic.

    Congrats on taking a subject and making it poetic!

    • Thanks, Linda! It means a lot. I have no education or training in poetry. I am sure I can do better with proper tutorials. I went blank after those 30 minutes. Plus, I’m still not yet able to make everything rhyme.

  2. Pingback: A Black Cat | Travellin' Thru Rambles

  3. Pingback: May 3 Daily Prompt: The Little Things | Nadeen's Corner

  4. Pingback: May 8 Daily Prompt: Success! | Nadeen's Reading Corner

Comments, opinions, ideas? Give it to me! Please, feel free to share.

