April 28 Daily Prompt: Cringe-Worthy

Do you feel uncomfortable when you see someone else being embarrassed? What’s most likely to make you squirm?

I feel very uncomfortable when people are being discriminating against, unfairly treated or being belittled in public. I know what it is like to be profiled, I know what it is like to be considered less than by looks only, I know what it is like to be shut down before I even open my mouth. I used to be very shy but I am more vocal now. I am quick to call it out. When I see it, I step up or I’ll say something positive to the person.

The other thing that makes me squirm is when good kids start acting up in public. I am talking about the usual good kids who just need a nap while their parents are trying to complete their tasks or errands or they decide to act their age by singing out loud, jumping around or asking to go to the bathroom 10 times in one hour. You know the parents are great, you know the behavior is not something permitted at home. So far, no one has shared with me the secret to appeasing cranky kids, beside a distraction or diversion. I feel the pain of the parents.

What makes you feel uncomfortable in public? Let me know what you think.

Live and Learn Saturday pictures are posted: travel to Puerto Rico. I will post the inspirational post later tonight for Motivation Sunday. To get the latest posts: follow my blog, follow me on Twitter account, like my page on Facebook, sign up via emails, delivered directly to your box.

About Nadeen Chrystal Davis

I am Nadeen Chrystal Davis, an aspiring fiction author. I am in the process of writing of novel that I hope to publish by next summer. In the meantime, I will be sharing some short stories. In this blog, I will talk about the writing process, about the ups and downs, about anything that catches my attention throughout my day. Feel free to comment: I want to hear from you. Read more about me on my blog: nadeendavisblog.wordpress.com... Hello and welcome!
This entry was posted in Culture, Daily posts, Family, Prompts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to April 28 Daily Prompt: Cringe-Worthy

  1. Pingback: Ain’t That A Shame – Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur

  2. I detest watching others being embarrassed. Worse is when my perfectly good kids need a nap and throw a tantrum at the local grocery store. Thank you for your post. It’s good to know that other parents understand where you’re coming from, since the singles stare at you like you deserve the award for worst parent of the year. 🙂

  3. Linda says:

    What makes me most uncomfortable is how too many people chose to vocalize that they are victims of discrimination, commonly called pulling the “race card.” People need to get past that excuse and be the best person they can be. Period.

    • That is true. I never jump to that. I gotta say I have been discriminated against. In those cases, they made it clear it was meant that way. Then I dealt with it appropriately… Sad to say I do lose some of those battles. But it’s a last resort.

Comments, opinions, ideas? Give it to me! Please, feel free to share.

