April 23 Daily Prompt: Stranger

Have you ever had a random encounter or fleeting moment with a stranger that stuck with you?

I remember a random act of kindness. I was visiting my sister in North Carolina with my parents. Since she was in class that morning, Mom and I went for a walk in the area. At one of the gas stations, we stopped to grab something. I cannot remember exactly but I think it was a couple bottles of water and a couple snacks. I went to pay up to pay at the cash register. Total was over $5, a little more than I thought it was gonna cost. Neither one of us brought our purses so we were looking for some change in our pockets. I was just telling the attendant to forget something when a tall and handsome young man reached from behind me and paid for my purchases.

I didn’t even notice him. He told the attendant he will pay for me along with his purchases. Either he is a regular customer or people are just so friendly in the South. They were chatting up a storm. Grateful, I said thanks and gave him the attendant the bills that I had in my hand so he did not have to pay for everything. The young man waved me off and said “Sweetie, I’m trying to be the nice guy here” and flashed me his million dollar smile. I must have looked so surprised that they both laughed. All red, I turned to give him the $5 bill. He said “Beautiful, I paid already. It’s hot outside and you got some water. It’s fine. Really. It’s done. Have yourself a great day and take care, ok darling?” He winked, waved to my mom and walked out. It was like a scene from a book. He was so charming and warm. I was like a real Southern gentleman. My mom thought I knew him. lol…

Personally, I have given change before when people were short at the register but I would not give more than a $1. Beyond that, I would say it is time for personal sacrifices. He changed my perception. There are really nice people out there. Since that day, I have paid a couple stuff for strangers and walked off. I want them to believe that there are really nice people out there too. I guess I am paying it forward.

To get the latest posts: follow my blog, follow me on Twitter account, like my page on Facebook, sign up via emails, delivered directly to your box.

About Nadeen Chrystal Davis

I am Nadeen Chrystal Davis, an aspiring fiction author. I am in the process of writing of novel that I hope to publish by next summer. In the meantime, I will be sharing some short stories. In this blog, I will talk about the writing process, about the ups and downs, about anything that catches my attention throughout my day. Feel free to comment: I want to hear from you. Read more about me on my blog: nadeendavisblog.wordpress.com... Hello and welcome!
This entry was posted in Daily posts, Prompts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to April 23 Daily Prompt: Stranger

  1. seeker says:

    What a wonderful way to meet people. I wish there are more of them. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: Live and Learn Saturday: Duke & Durham, NC | Nadeen's Reading Corner

Comments, opinions, ideas? Give it to me! Please, feel free to share.

