April 21 Daily Prompt: Critical Eye

Write about the subject you usually blog about as if you were a music critic.

Music may sound like cacophony to the person unfamiliar with a particular genre. You hear different sounds, different instruments, different arrangement. Every new artist wants to be different, wants to stand out. Newflash: you do have some rules to follow if you want to be successful in the business.

The underlying thread of a successful song is the melody. You have to have a particular rhythm to get people to move and rock with it. Great lyrics specially rhymes will make it popular and memorable.  The marketability of the artist, the promotion and the exposure to the right audience will make you a star.

What’s in a melody? Like in writing, you have sentences made with words, punctuation to provide tone and paragraphs to present a clear thought separation. It is the same in music. Instead of words, notes are used. Different keys. Breaks and pauses. Different instruments to add tones, exaggerate some notes or soften others. The rhythm is the repetition of particular sequence on a particular interval. It is like walking on uneven grounds. You expect most of it to be solid while some part will give in a little bit.

Just like a book is arranged by chapters, it starts with the beginning, culminates and then ends at the end. Unless it is the Twilight Saga. Just kidding, people. lol… Your audience expects the same. Usually, songs start with an intro, the chorus is different from the hooks, with the last one being a little different yet. It is a familiar sequence. I personally do not know how this became the standard but it is what is expected.

As an artist, you are free to be as creative as you wish. But if you want to become famous, build a loyal and wide audience, you have to incorporate certain little rules that will mimics a little clock within us that looks for rhythm, familiarity, recognition. As you listen to unfamiliar music, you can tell this is solid ground, oh this is a slip, oh this is a big hole. We are back on solid ground. Before you know it, you have your audience singing along, dancing to your beat because they “got” it.

This is how I evaluate new music. I explained how I use music therapy here. I think deep down,  I am seeking that familiarity of traveled ground for my thoughts because everything else around me is either uncertain or challenging. Your music may be new to me as an artist but if you do not have this basic pattern, it is hard for me to actually enjoy it. Here is my April playlist. Do you use a different process? How do you decided what to listen or reject when it comes to music?

To get the latest posts: follow my blog, follow me on Twitter account, like my page on Facebook, sign up via emails, delivered directly to your box.

About Nadeen Chrystal Davis

I am Nadeen Chrystal Davis, an aspiring fiction author. I am in the process of writing of novel that I hope to publish by next summer. In the meantime, I will be sharing some short stories. In this blog, I will talk about the writing process, about the ups and downs, about anything that catches my attention throughout my day. Feel free to comment: I want to hear from you. Read more about me on my blog: nadeendavisblog.wordpress.com... Hello and welcome!
This entry was posted in Daily posts, Entertainment, Music, Prompts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to April 21 Daily Prompt: Critical Eye

  1. Pingback: Rhapsody In Blue Turf | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: The Big Reviewski – Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur

  3. Pingback: April 22 Daily Prompt: Earworm | Nadeen's Corner

Comments, opinions, ideas? Give it to me! Please, feel free to share.

