April 2013 Playlist

I have been facing this crazy week by listening to music. It is what I do during high anxiety and high stress periods. I talk about how I make my selections for music therapy here. It keeps me grounded. Writing is my creative expression, more like an outlet, an escape.

My taste spans a wide range but I mostly listen to Pop, R&B, Rap. I also listen to Haitian, Latino and Reggae music. Anything with piano, strong beat to blast in the car or lyrics I can identify with will definitely be on my playlist with me. My selections depend on my mood.

Lately, so many artists blend into different genres or collaborate with another that it is hard to categorize some of them. I have not added anything new to my music therapy playlist (yet) but I think it is time for a new entry. Beyonce and Jennifer Hudson are still the front runners. I am considering the top $ on the list below.

I have a few that I have heard recently that I like enough to add on iTunes. I will be playing the following over and over to see what sticks. I have the Pandora Today’s Hits Radio Channel playing in the background right now.

1. P!nk- Just Give Me A Reason Ft Nate Ruess

She is among my favorite artists. I like her from the very beginning, from the days when her hair was actually pink and I am still a fan. She is from Doylestown, PA where I have worked in the past. I feel connected to her. lol…

2. Justin Timberlake- Mirrors

Justin is another one of my favorites. It started from NSync days. I always saw him as a white guy with a black soul. He said he grew up listening to R&B, thanks to his grandparents. I feel it in his music and I like it.

3. Demi Lovato- Heart Attack

I like the beat. I do not really know much about her but I like this song. I can relate to the lyrics and that is all about this one. I liked Skyscraper. It is under consideration for music therapy.

4. Rihanna- Stay ft. Mikky Ekko

How can I talk about music and not talk about my bad boy and bad girl couple? My crazy girl Rih is back. I complained about her relationship back with Chris Brown. They broke up reportedly. I hope it is for good. They are not really good together. They need to heal and they should do that separately. I like his Don’t Judge Me even though I think it was about the rumors of them getting back together. I hope Stay is not about him right now.

5. Pitbull- Feel This Moment Ft Christina Aguilera

Currently, my life is heading on a positive rise. This song reminds me to enjoy the journey while I work hard. Xtina is my chic. I blast that song when it comes on the radio.

6. Kelly Rowland- Kisses Down Low

Ms Kelly gave me my “lights low, music on, just relaxing” bedroom song. A beat slow enough to wine those hips and get things started. And that is all there is to that one 😉

7. Taylor Swift- I Knew You Were Trouble

First time I heard this song, I was at a bar with a friend and moving to that beat. And I asked her who sings this because I know exactly what this chic means. I like Taylor. I remember her before she got famous. I was her interview on a local show called 10! where she said very soon the nation will be talking about her. She is from a small PA town, she was talking about school and many other topics. Fast forward just a couple months, she crossed paths with Kanye West and the rest is history.

8. Bruno Mars- When I was your man

9. Macklemore & Ryan Lewis- Can’t Hold Us

10. Of Monster & Men- Little Talks

11. Krewella-Alive

12. Ariana Grande- The Way

Last year, Carly Rae Jepsen gave us the ubiquitous Call Me Maybe as the summer anthem. I am waiting to see what will it be this year. It is too early to pin it down yet.

Note: I will expand this list as I play more tracks this entire week. Keep checking for comments about your favorites or submit your own suggestions.

To get the latest posts: follow my blog, follow me on Twitter account, like my page on Facebook, sign up via emails, delivered directly to your box.

About Nadeen Chrystal Davis

I am Nadeen Chrystal Davis, an aspiring fiction author. I am in the process of writing of novel that I hope to publish by next summer. In the meantime, I will be sharing some short stories. In this blog, I will talk about the writing process, about the ups and downs, about anything that catches my attention throughout my day. Feel free to comment: I want to hear from you. Read more about me on my blog: nadeendavisblog.wordpress.com... Hello and welcome!
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Hollywood, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to April 2013 Playlist

  1. Pingback: April 21 Daily Prompt: Critical Eye | Nadeen's Corner

  2. Pingback: April 22 Daily Prompt: Earworm | Nadeen's Corner

  3. Pingback: Throwback Thursday: The Boy Bands | Nadeen's Corner

Comments, opinions, ideas? Give it to me! Please, feel free to share.

