April 20 Daily Prompt: Companionable

Head to one of your favorite blogs. Write a companion piece to their penultimate post.

This morning, I read a post from My Everyday Power Blog and I was inspired by the post “TOP 5 WORDS TO DELETE FROM YOUR VOCABULARY.” I knew this is something I wanted to post about.

I have previously stated that time and time again, we are the ones who stop ourselves from reaching our full potential. I have said that we are our worst enemies with our fears. Read my Our Deepest Fear here. What we think to ignore is how much of it from self doubt, self degradation and self destruction. We do not give ourselves enough credits for the falls that we take, for the mistakes that we make, for the courage it takes to try.

1. The phrase “I can’t” do set off the rest of the sentence. You have already made a decision not to get involved, not to attempt, not to make it work. From the movie “The Negotiator” with Samuel L. Jackson, I learned not to use “no” and “I can’t” when talking to someone unless I want to make it categorically clear, like my 5 year old niece. lol… Instead, I would start my sentences with something like “Tomorrow… next week… next month… in a few…” etc.

2. Over the years, I have trained myself not to fear “failure” per say. Now I promise not to even use it. I acknowledge that I make mistakes, I anticipate falls. My sister’s motto is “Never take no for an answer. No means comes back later.” That late can be a few hours, a few days, a few years. Just do not give up, do not let obstacles stop your path. And I believe that.

3. At times, “I feel overwhelmed” and it is truly how I feel. So much just falls one me at one time. I learned to make a list, prioritize tasks and have a checklist. I know that I must stick to the schedule to make it happen. If I give myself an hour to write, I set an alarm. I know that beyond the allotted time slot, I will have to move to the next item on my schedule.

4. “But is used before excuses. Instead, I use it to follow with what I will do to fix it, what I will do to make things better going forward. When I am speaking with someone, I tend to question their buts and help them break down the barriers they have raised behind them. At times, they do not realize how much they have limited themselves.

5. “I hate” is a phrase my mother has taught me long ago not to use unless I am feeling that strongly about something. I usually state that I dislike or I prefer to make it a positive sentence.

Honestly, we can succeed if we give ourselves that chance with some daily affirmation. You can read my Triumph post here. We do not realize how much our choice of words alone affects how we live our lives, how we interact with other and how plan our future. The truth is that it does matter what you say to people. More importantly, it does matter what we say to ourselves. I will start with some affirmation today: I will be a published author.

I thank My Everyday Power Blog for the day’s reflection once again. Bring it on: I am pumped!!! Did this post change how you see things? How you will face the day after reading this?

To get the latest posts: follow my blog, follow me on Twitter account, like my page on Facebook, sign up via emails, delivered directly to your box.

About Nadeen Chrystal Davis

I am Nadeen Chrystal Davis, an aspiring fiction author. I am in the process of writing of novel that I hope to publish by next summer. In the meantime, I will be sharing some short stories. In this blog, I will talk about the writing process, about the ups and downs, about anything that catches my attention throughout my day. Feel free to comment: I want to hear from you. Read more about me on my blog: nadeendavisblog.wordpress.com... Hello and welcome!
This entry was posted in Daily posts, Empowerment & Self-Help, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to April 20 Daily Prompt: Companionable

  1. Pingback: I Can’t Write What I Don’t Know | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Overlooking the Obvious | Nadeen's Corner

  3. Pingback: Motivation Sunday: Start with a Good Idea. | Nadeen's Corner

Comments, opinions, ideas? Give it to me! Please, feel free to share.

