Boston Manhunt Over: Exhale!

I can actually breathe tonight. I did not realize how tensed and emotionally drained I was until now. I have a lot going on with school, work and life balance. I am preparing end of semester “dump” of stuff and upcoming finals. I am setting up the next couple semesters and the next steps toward my career goals. And yes, that includes my writing career. I have calls to make, things to do, places to go. One top of all, I have been concerned all week about Boston, going through the emotions as the events unfold.

Boston has been on my mind all week. I have friends and family who live there, who work in that area, who are directly affected by recent events. I have walked in that area, I have hung out in those streets, visited the sites. At one point, I even considered moving to Boston. I am sure I would have been working in the area. That made it personal. What if I did move? I cannot imagine the stress of being in Boston during that lock down, thinking the suspect could be anywhere near you.

I am celebrating the fact that he is captured, without additional victims or damages to others. The streets are safe again. Deep down, I am sad. It is a sad situation all the way around: young suspects, young victims, young injured. It is something that will forever change how we see marathons, how we see or talk about the City of Boston. It has affected millions of Americans. We will heal, we will move on but I am not sure we will ever forget as the effects were too widespread, the attack way too personal.

In this first phase, we have solved the “when”, the “how” and the “who” within a week. The when was monday, the how Tuesday and Wednesday, the who on Thursday and Friday. It will take a while for the why to play out so it will take a long while to finalize and deal with all the ramifications. From news network, I heard that President Obama addressed the nation. I did not get a chance to watch beside a few clips. Just like it started and rolled out, the arrest also takes unprecedented route. Apparently, a new federal exemption in the name of safety will be used and suspect will not be read his rights. I have to find out more about this one, I have never heard of it before.

Dear Mister, the world is waiting: we want some answers.

To get the latest posts: follow my blog, follow me on Twitter account, like my page on Facebook, sign up via emails, delivered directly to your box.

About Nadeen Chrystal Davis

I am Nadeen Chrystal Davis, an aspiring fiction author. I am in the process of writing of novel that I hope to publish by next summer. In the meantime, I will be sharing some short stories. In this blog, I will talk about the writing process, about the ups and downs, about anything that catches my attention throughout my day. Feel free to comment: I want to hear from you. Read more about me on my blog: nadeendavisblog.wordpress.com... Hello and welcome!
This entry was posted in Boston, In the News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Boston Manhunt Over: Exhale!

  1. Linda says:

    Nadeen, I’ve only read a couple of your blogs this morning, but please know that I am alrady a fan. So far, in my opinion, you have a talent that could become one of the biggest opportunities of your life. When you stated that you are “in the process of writing a novel”, I’m also thinking of writing. Not sure what yet, but there comes a time in everyone’s life that they need to reach deep and decide to do something that is meaningful to them. Seems like the blog will help you collect your thoughts on a daily basis and share your innermost feelings. I applaud you for your efforts. Looking forward to seeing where this leads – wishing you good luck and a journey you will never forget!

    • I thank you for reading my posts. I am writing the novel bit by bit. It’s like a movie in my head, a project of love… My goal with those daily posts is to work on my style, explore different topics even unfamiliar ones and get feedback as to how I express ideas: do readers get the point? Am I clear? Am I engaging? Am I captivating the reader?… I will definitely post on here how it is going. I encourage you to give it a try. Start with blog posts and short stories like I am doing. Just mapping out the novel took me a couple months: I wanted specific locations, I wanted the names to fit the characters. I know it will take awhile. Keep reading and let me know what you decide. Thank you again and good luck to you too 🙂

Comments, opinions, ideas? Give it to me! Please, feel free to share.

