April 13 Daily Prompt: S/he said

Pause whatever you’re doing, and ask the person nearest you what they’re thinking about (call someone if you have to). Write a post based on it.

When I read the prompt, I was with foodist Lissa. What was on her mind? Food, of course. You can read her post here. I just parked the car and we were heading to lunch. On the menu was squash soup. It is one of my personal favorites.

20130414-193611.jpg

My problem with squash is that it has meat in it. It’s traditional. I ate the piece of meat that was in my bowl. It taste great with all the vegetables, the pasta and potatoes, etc. As a new vegetarian, I had to take the day off and enjoy it. It is one of those comfort foods. I do not cook squash soup. One of the dishes I have yet to master. I only eat for holidays or when Mom decides to make some for the family. I do want to try without meat and see how I like it.

After the soup, I had some salad, mac and cheese, rice and beans and some fried pork with pikliz (a kind of hot sauce mix with shredded cabbage, carrots and hot peppers). Again only a couple small pieces of meat. It felt good to mingle around with loved ones. I am back on my no meat land. I feel better without it.

To get the latest posts: follow my blog, follow me on Twitter account, like my page on Facebook, sign up via emails, delivered directly to your box.

About Nadeen Chrystal Davis

I am Nadeen Chrystal Davis, an aspiring fiction author. I am in the process of writing of novel that I hope to publish by next summer. In the meantime, I will be sharing some short stories. In this blog, I will talk about the writing process, about the ups and downs, about anything that catches my attention throughout my day. Feel free to comment: I want to hear from you. Read more about me on my blog: nadeendavisblog.wordpress.com... Hello and welcome!
This entry was posted in Daily posts, Food & Drinks, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments, opinions, ideas? Give it to me! Please, feel free to share.

