The Love of Reading Through the Years

Monkey does what monkey sees. My love for reading and writing started a long time ago. My parents always read to me. I loved story time. A former teacher, Mom was finishing nursing school when I was born. While she was studying in her books, I was next to her with mine. Or I would go bug my dad who is also an avid reader (and a part time teacher too).

This is the picture of my first book:

20130403-181619.jpg

I was either 3 or 4 years old when I bought my first book above. For my birthday, I asked to pick my own present: I wanted a book, I wanted to pick my own title. It was a deal. I guess I was born a little negotiator. lol… My dad and I walked from my house to the store which was located a couple streets over. I was allowed a book and a special treat. I bought a Martine birthday book and a small red Pringles as my special treat. I took that book everywhere with me. lol…

During the school year, I looked forward to fridays. Not only because the weekend was coming, it was the day I could sign out a book from the classroom library. I read all the Martines they had at school and moved on to others. One of my favorite categories was adventure books. I love the author’s descriptions of the different places. I felt like I was traveling. Club des 5 is a fun collection.

20130403-181711.jpg

I went into mysteries after that. I really thought I was gonna be a detective one day like Alice. At times, I wonder how she is doing all of that when she is so young lol…

20130403-181650.jpg

For the Comtesse de Segur, it is a classic collection. I had all the titles, lined up in our library at home. I love reading about the old days.

20130403-182437.jpg

During middle school, I remember reading the Baby Sitters Club book and Sweet Valley High. There were others that I can’t remember right now. Many and many were turned into television shows.

20130403-191240.jpg

By high school, I was living in America. I was amazed at the variety of the books available for free at the library. I was checking out books constantly. All the leisure reading stopped during college as leisure time was cut and I was working to actually pay bills. I still read in my spare time. I just takes me much longer to read a book or two. I am still working on Harry Potter. I know, I’m late.

I started reading a very long time ago. It is something that became a part of who I am today. Nothing like getting lost in a good book. You forget the world exists. Here I am now, writing one. I love the story so far. Slow but good.

Any of these books look familiar? What books do you remember reading? This post was inspired by this beautiful page.

To get the latest posts: follow my blog, follow me on Twitter account, like my page on Facebook, sign up via emails, delivered directly to your box.

About Nadeen Chrystal Davis

I am Nadeen Chrystal Davis, an aspiring fiction author. I am in the process of writing of novel that I hope to publish by next summer. In the meantime, I will be sharing some short stories. In this blog, I will talk about the writing process, about the ups and downs, about anything that catches my attention throughout my day. Feel free to comment: I want to hear from you. Read more about me on my blog: nadeendavisblog.wordpress.com... Hello and welcome!
This entry was posted in Books & Movies, Culture, Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Love of Reading Through the Years

  1. There is, indeed, nothing like a good book!

  2. I’m a guy and I feel in love with reading in the 8th grade. By the 9th grade I was buying the whole Baby Sitter’s Club collection and saying it was for my sister, but it was really for me! I used to also read Sweet Valley High. I’m a heterosexual African American male, so you can imagine the lengths I went through to hide my passion for reading these books!

    • I can just imagine what you went through. I had my own struggles due to the fact that I was reading and taking honors classes. It’s just not right. Kudos to you! Look where you are now… I read just about anything I can get my hands on. There was one point I would ask my parents to drive me to further libraries because I was done with teen section in a particular one. Amazing what we do lol…

    • Thank you for your visit. I’m following you. Some of your posts caught my attention.

  3. danchanmktg says:

    As a child, I loved Amelia Bedelia! These books would make me laugh so hard! As a youth, I enjoyed Mary Higgins Clark. I went through many different phases of books: joke books, mysteries, romance, adventure, and now I’m interested in marketing-related novels! Books are a great escape from my busy life!

    • Thanks for sharing. That is great! I lost track of all the books I read. Many of my favorite series were adapted into TV show series. If a story did not have a book, I would write it. This is why I see a scene in my head first, then I pause it second by second and describe with my words… Lately, I read all the current best sellers and the buzzing motivational books.

Comments, opinions, ideas? Give it to me! Please, feel free to share.

