April 2 Daily Prompt: Prized Possession

Describe an item you were incredibly attached to as a child. What became of it?

As a child, I was incredibly attached to my necklace. At birth, my father gave me a small cross to wear. According to my parents, I slipped from my father’s back while playing in the ocean. Who resists a piggy back ride on Dad? Not me at 4 months or so! It was summer time and my family went to the beach. My Mom who is deathly afraid of water (and snakes) started screaming from the shore. She does not know how to swim. Dad said he kept calm, the sand was dark and masked me but he found me quickly thanks to the sun light reflecting from the necklace. He said he would never let me go another day without a necklace on.

I was about 4 years old when the thin baby gold chain broke. I lost it during the summer, after my trip to DC and New York. I can see that I am wearing it in pictures. Right before I start school, Dad gave me a Nefertiti necklace to replace the lost one. I used to believe I would become a strong African queen as she was. lol… The thin chain broke on that one too. I was near 10 years old. I was devastated. So I asked for a bigger and better gold necklace A few months later, I got it. On the day of my first communion, Mom gave me a Virgin Mary holding a baby Jesus gold chain. At the time, Mom had a ring which I begged her to give me on a daily basis. Mom was reluctant, she said it was older than me, she bought it in Canada but she finally gave in when I started high school, along with the matching earrings. I was 14 at the time. I promised her that I will not lose them.

20130402-173713.jpg

Fast forward to nearly 20 years later, I still have the necklace and the ring. The earrings had issues with the closure. Dad had them melted and made into a different set of earrings. I am not sure what he did with them. So, yes, sure enough I kept my promise. Mom even told me how impressed she was. lol… I prefer silver when I am dressed up and I am going out. Any other time, you will find me rocking that necklace and that ring.

 

To get the latest posts: follow my blog, follow me on Twitter account, like my page on Facebook, sign up via email straight to your box.

About Nadeen Chrystal Davis

I am Nadeen Chrystal Davis, an aspiring fiction author. I am in the process of writing of novel that I hope to publish by next summer. In the meantime, I will be sharing some short stories. In this blog, I will talk about the writing process, about the ups and downs, about anything that catches my attention throughout my day. Feel free to comment: I want to hear from you. Read more about me on my blog: nadeendavisblog.wordpress.com... Hello and welcome!
This entry was posted in Beauty & Fashion, Daily posts, Family, Prompts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to April 2 Daily Prompt: Prized Possession

  1. Pingback: Droopy Drawers | The Daily Dilly Dally

Comments, opinions, ideas? Give it to me! Please, feel free to share.

