Sometimes, the Original is just Better.

Who does not like chocolate?!? Believe it or not, I do not. I am very picky about my chocolate. I rarely eat it so it is a true treat. I am unable to eat most popular candy bars. I don’t know if it is the mixture of flavors or components. I’ll even say that it might have to do with the amount of sugar in them. I really don’t know. I just stay away.

I am not a saint: I cannot pass up dark chocolate, Carvel’s ice cream cake and Oreo cookies. Now you know my deepest secret. lol… Unable to go to the gym as much as I have done in the past couple years, I have been more conscientious regarding my food consumption. With an upcoming trip and a fundraiser to attend this month, I did cut back on my little indulgences.

So this weekend, I had one of those Nabisco 100 calories Oreo Thin Crisps. I liked them but they did not satisfy my craving. Maybe I imagined the taste would be close to the real Oreos. It was not. Not even close. I kept thinking that it did, I tried to trick my own brain and my taste buds that it was close enough. I did not work. 100 calories just sounded sooooo good! lol… I am good regarding just having one or two servings per day. I ration it. It’s not about the amount, just the taste. When I am craving Oreos, I just gotta have it!

20130306-004455.jpg

Regarding all the different types of Oreos in the grocery aisle, they don’t work for me either. I have seen numerous varieties from double creme to mint to many other crazy variations. I even tried Reduced Fat a couple times. It is not the same. Keep them all. All I want is the original one. I have tried so many different brands of similar cookies. Nope, they don’t work for me either. Am I unable to change? Is this hardwired in my brain? I do not know. I just realized how much of an Oreo snob I am. I am waiting for the discount card from Nabisco to come in the mail.

Yep, you know this is coming: I was a bad today. I spend a few days resisting the Oreo craving. After a long and rough day, I had an Oreo McFlurry from McDonald’s on my way home. Let me tell you, I deserved it! I did not have time for breakfast today, I had sushi for lunch. I’ll be back on track tomorrow. lol…

What kind of food/drink turn you into snob? I can’t be the only one 🙂

 

About Nadeen Chrystal Davis

I am Nadeen Chrystal Davis, an aspiring fiction author. I am in the process of writing of novel that I hope to publish by next summer. In the meantime, I will be sharing some short stories. In this blog, I will talk about the writing process, about the ups and downs, about anything that catches my attention throughout my day. Feel free to comment: I want to hear from you. Read more about me on my blog: nadeendavisblog.wordpress.com... Hello and welcome!
This entry was posted in Food & Drinks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sometimes, the Original is just Better.

  1. I’m the same way! I like my grilled cheese plain. I like my cheese-steaks plain. I don’t always need the bells and whistles when it comes to certain foods. Give me the original, too! I can so relate!

  2. Pingback: May 20 Daily Prompt: Dulled | Nadeen's Reading Corner

Comments, opinions, ideas? Give it to me! Please, feel free to share.

